Vixie, Don’t Lose That Number

Proportions

Okay so I’m channeling some Steely Dan with this post title, but hey, it’s what immediately came to mind when I started thinking about digits and “numbers” for Strawberry Singh’s latest meme – What’s your Digits? – Take 3: Proportions Challenge.

Just like many avis out there, I completely and totally LOVE my shape. I made it myself (face excluded – I used to have can-opener chin like nobody’s business!) WAY back in the day, just 2 or 3 weeks after starting SL when I learned how to play with those sliders, and I’ll have to say I haven’t changed it much since then apart from little tweaks here and there.

It was interesting to read Alaska Metropolitan’s tutorial link on Berry’s meme and to see how well I’d done. Turns out my legs were a bit long, so I shortened them up just a bit, but my boobs and butt (once known as my “pride and joy”) were in perfect proportion to one another.

So I started looking for a pose and got ready to take my pic when I realized, hey, I think I might suffer from a bit of T-Rex Arm Syndrome! So I stood up in RL to see where my hands fell at my side and figured, yep, they needed some lengthening, so I bumped my number from 44 to 55 and I have to say they look better. I figure if they don’t look grotesque from the change then it was probably a change that was needed.

Proportions Challenge Questions:

1. Do you try and keep your avatar’s body proportionate and similar to the “average” proportions pictured above? I have never compared my proportions to any sort of “rules” until this challenge, but I always strive to keep her realistic. Even when I’m wearing my tangos, I don’t make them mega huge.

2. What do you dislike the most about the SL avatar mesh? I hate how sometimes, depending on how the avi moves, you get these chunks and jags of pixels – like RL cottage cheese effect on crack.

3. Does it bother you when you see other avatars that are not proportionate at all? There are some looks that I like and some that I don’t, but if you can’t come into SL and look the way you want, whether that’s with quadruple D boobs, a faun, a furry, a petite or anything else, then what’s the point?

4. Even though this is a virtual world and people can be anything they want to be, do you feel when they are in human form, they should try to keep their proportions close to average? No, for the same reasons above. It’s their avi, let them do what they want to with it. Whether I like it or not is irrelevant.

Credits:

Hair: Exile – Fiona in Moreno

Eyes: Dead Apples (Temp Location) – Murdered Brown

Skin: Essences – Wednesday II in Golden Bronze

Lingerie: Fishy Strawberry – Soignee in White {no longer available}

Pose: BENT. – Lookbook 5

Whachathinkin?

